AlmaLinux 8.5 Beta for PowerPC Now Available

AlmaLinux 8.5 Beta for PowerPC Now Available

Hello, Community! We have a belated Christmas present for you. Wanted to eek out just one more release before we ring in 2022. AlmaLinux 8.5 Beta is now available for PowerPC!

We are very proud to be able to deliver this release but please remember: this is a BETA release and should not be used for production installations. Grab it up, test it out, file your bugs and join the community to talk all about it.

Bug Hunt Day!!

We will be having a bug hunting and test day on Jan 12th, 2022, starting at 17:00UTC/12PM Eastern/9am Pacific dedicated to testing the release. The event will take place on the AlmaLinux Mattermost. Come by, help us do some testing and win yourself some awesome swag.

Release Notes

This is the first beta release for PowerPC. You can read more about it by checking out the Release Notes.

Special Thanks

The AlmaLinux Team would like to give special shout out to our partners at the Oregon State University Open Source Lab for their support and assistance. We are grateful for their support in making this new architecture available.

What can you do to help?

Test, test, test. Your feedback is what helps make great releases. Please, report any bugs you may see on the Bug Tracker. You can also pop into the AlmaLinux Community Chat and join our Testing Channel, post a question on our 8.5 Beta Forum, on our AlmaLinux Community on Reddit or catch us on Twitter. Please enjoy this Beta release, let us know what you think and stay tuned for more updates and announcements coming soon. Happy Testing!