Améliorez votre distribution

À propos

Mises à jour majeures des versions

Ce n'était pas possible, jusqu'à présent. Migrez facilement entre les principales versions des distributions basées sur RHEL, de 7.x à 8.x. Préservez vos applications, vos données et votre santé mentale. Exécutez la version la plus récente de l'OS et des logiciels dont vous avez besoin.

Service d'évolution des paquets

Le cœur battant d'ELevate est le Service d'évolution des paquets (SEP) qui vous permet de télécharger, de personnaliser et même de soumettre de nouveaux ensembles de données pour les paquets. Les utilisateurs et les mainteneurs peuvent tous deux utiliser le SEP pour aider à rendre les migrations fluides et faciles.

Projet communautaire

ELevate est développé de manière agnostique par rapport aux distributions et est construit comme un outil pour l'ensemble de l'écosystème, pas seulement pour AlmaLinux. ELevate supporte la migration vers/depuis d'autres distributions et est ouvert à la contribution et à l'amélioration de tous.

Foire aux Questions
Qu'est-ce que ELevate ?
ELevate est un projet visant à fournir la possibilité de migrer entre les principales versions des distributions basées sur RHEL, de 7.x à 8.x. Il combine le cadre de travail Leapp de Red Hat avec une bibliothèque et un service créés par la communauté pour l'ensemble des métadonnées de migration nécessaires.
Ça a l'air génial. Comment puis-je contribuer ?
First join us at #migration Mattermost channel. You can find the tool code here: https://github.com/AlmaLinux/leapp-repository/tree/almalinux and you can add/edit/interact with package metadata at https://pes.almalinux.org.
Est-ce prêt pour la production ?
YMMV. Chaque environnement est différent et unique en fonction des applications et des configurations. Étant donné que cette fonctionnalité est encore en cours de développement, pour éviter toute surprise, nous vous recommandons vivement de tester les scénarios de migration dans une VM ou un bac à sable avant d'exécuter une migration en production.
Quels systèmes d'exploitation ELevate prend-il en charge ?
Actuellement ELevate fournit des données Leapp pour la migration de CentOS 7 vers les OS suivants:
  • AlmaLinux OS 8
  • CentOS Stream 8
  • Oracle Linux 8
  • Rocky Linux 8
Will migration be "in-place"?
Oui. Toutes vos données, applications et paramètres seront conservés.
Est-ce utilisable directement ou nécessite de redémarrer ?
Les migrations nécessiteront deux redémarrages de votre système.
Que fait le service d'évolution des paquets ?
Le service d'évolution des paquets stocke les métadonnées de migration des paquets. Les métadonnées répondent aux questions concernant l'évolution des paquets entre les principales versions de la distribution. SEP prend en charge plusieurs classes de règles pour les paquets, comme l'ajout, la suppression, le renommage, la division, la fusion, etc. Le service permet également à chacun d'améliorer les données en ajoutant de nouvelles actions ou même de créer un ensemble de données personnalisé pour les paquets provenant de dépôts tiers ou privés.
Red Hat propose un ensemble de données dont la licence n'est pas libre. Utilisez-vous ce même ensemble de données ?
Non. Nous respectons le travail de Red Hat et notre ensemble de données initial a été fourni par la Fondation AlmaLinux et les contributions d'Oracle.
Sous quelle licence vos métadonnées sont-elles placées ?
Les métadonnées sont fournies sous une licence Apache.
Pourquoi supportez-vous la migration vers d'autres distributions ?
L'écosystème CentOS est une communauté très vaste et diversifiée. Nous avons développé ce projet en toute bonne foi dans l'espoir que chaque membre de la communauté puisse l'utiliser et y contribuer, quelle que soit la distro qu'il préfère. C'est la voie de l'open source.

The next AlmaLinux betas are ready for testing! Checkout AlmaLinux OS 9.4 beta and AlmaLinux OS 8.10 beta

ELevate Your Distribution

Get Started Discuss
About

Major Version Upgrades

It wasn't possible--until now. Move from CentOS 7.x to 8.x version of the RHEL derivative of your choice, or upgrade from 8.x to 9.x within the same derivative. Preserve your applications, your data, and your sanity. Run the most recent version of the OS and software you need.

Package Evolution Service

The beating heart of ELevate is the Package Evolution Service (PES) which allows you to download, customize and even submit new data sets for packages. Users and maintainers can both utilize the PES to help make migrations smooth and easy.

Community-wide Project

ELevate is developed in a distribution agnostic way and is built as a tool for the whole ecosystem, not just AlmaLinux. ELevate supports migrating to/from other distributions and is open for all to contribute to and enhance.

FAQ
What is ELevate?
ELevate is a project aimed to provide the ability to upgrade between major versions of RHEL-based distributions from 7.x to 8.x and from 8.x to 9.x. It combines Red Hat's Leapp framework with a community-created migration metadata library and service.
This looks awesome. How can I contribute?
First join us in the ~migration Mattermost channel. You can find the tool code in the AlmaLinux GitHub organization and you can add/edit/interact with package metadata at https://pes.almalinux.org.
Is this ready for production?
ELevate has been used to migrate production environments across industries and across the world, but we still advise caution. Every environment is different and unique based on applications and configurations. To avoid any surprises, we highly recommend that you test upgrades scenarios in a virtual machine or sandbox before running a upgrades in production.
What operating systems does ELevate support?
Currently, ELevate project supports the following upgrade and migration directions: ELevate scheme CentOS7 -> AlmaLinux, CentOS Stream, EuroLinux, Oracle, Rocky 8 -> AlmaLinux, CentOS Stream, EuroLinux, Rocky 9 * - migration to CentOS Stream 9 is currently in development and will be available later.
** - migration to Oracle Linux 9 is available with the Oracle Leapp utility and will not be supported by ELevate project.
Note: If you use cPanel, we recommend using the cPanel ELevate fork.
Will migration be "in-place"?
Yes. All your data, applications and settings will be kept.
Is this live or does it require a reboot?
Migrations will require your system to reboot twice.
What does the Package Evolution Service (PES) do?
The Package Evolution Service stores package migration metadata. Metadata answers questions about how packages evolve between major distribution releases. PES supports several classes of rules for packages such as added, removed, renamed, split, merged, and so on. The service also allows everyone to improve the data by adding new actions or even create a custom dataset for packages from third-party or private repositories.
Red Hat offers a data set which is non-freely licensed. Are you using this same data set?
No. We respect Red Hat’s work and our initial data set was provided by the AlmaLinux OS Foundation with contributions from Oracle.
What license is your metadata under?
The metadata is provided under an Apache License.
Why are you supporting migration to other distributions?
Our contributors have been part of the RHEL ecosystem for a very long time, and we recognized that the CentOS ecosystem is a very large and diverse community. We've developed this project in good faith in the hope that everyone in the community can use and contribute to, no matter which distro you prefer. That's the open source way.